NEBOSH – (The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health) was established in 1979 as an awarding body with charitable status.  We offer the wide range of globally-recognised,  qualifications designed to meet the health, safety and environmental management needs of all places of work.

Courses leading to NEBOSH qualifications attract around 50,000 candidates annually and are offered by over 600-course providers, with exams conducted over 120 countries throughout the world. In 2014, we achieved the Queen’s Award for Enterprise for our “outstanding achievement” in International Trade. It is Britain’s highest accolade for trade success.

Our National & International qualifications are accepted by the several professional membership bodies including the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH), the Chartered Institution of Water and Environmental Management (CIWEM) and IEMA.

NEBOSH examinations and assessments are designed and set by its professionally qualified staff assisted by external examiners; most of whom are Chartered Safety and Health Practitioners or Chartered Environmentalists operating within the industry, the public sector or in enforcement agencies.

A Qualification Governance Council observes our technical standards with representatives drawn from national institutions.

NEBOSH is an awarding body approved by Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation, which has a UK-wide regulatory remit.

Also, NEBOSH is also an ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 certified organisation.

Contact: Dominus Way, Meridian Business Park, Leicester LE19 1QW, UK tel: +44 (0)116 263 4700 fax: +44 (0)116 282 4000

Registered in England and Wales number 2698100 Registered charity number 1010444.

NEBOSH gets almost 200,000 examination registrations each year from people living in the 125 different countries, each seeking to obtain one of the various qualifications.

As well as the career professionals, people with the many different workplaces roles and the responsibilities now hold the NEBOSH qualifications. Health, safety and environmental management are increasingly seen as the essential skill for all the sorts of employees to possess, from the company directors to construction workers, insurance advisors, HR personnel and more.

The professionally qualified staff sets NEBOSH examinations & the assessments and supported by the external examiners, most of whom are Chartered Safety and Health Practitioners or Chartered Environmentalists operating inside the industry, the public sector or within the enforcement.

NEBOSH does not deliver/offer courses themselves. Instead, these are offered by the NEBOSH Accredited Course Providers, and there are more than the 620 NEBOSH Accredited Course Providers throughout the world. They give the training and the education needed to gain the NEBOSH qualification.

A good starting point for finding the NEBOSH course or the Accredited Course Provider is the ‘Where to Study’ section of the NEBOSH website at To know what is involved.

Explanation Of the NEBOSH Qualifications

There are currently three different categories/kinds of NEBOSH qualification – Award, Certificate and the Diploma. Also, by the partnership with the University of Hull, NEBOSH also now offers a range of the Master’s degrees.


An Award qualification demonstrates a basic understanding of the subject that is covered and may be used as the introduction to the other higher level of NEBOSH qualifications. NEBOSH offers the three Award level qualifications:

  • NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work
  • NEBOSH Environmental Awareness at Work Qualification
  • NEBOSH Award in Safety, Health and Environment for the Process Industries

The Employers, in particular, they are attracted to this level of the qualification, as they support them to improve their overall health and safety culture in the workplace. A significant number of the employers have thoroughly integrated these Awards into their training sessions/programmes to become the mandatory foundation qualifications.

One of the main benefits for the employers is the flexibility of the course structure and the content, which can be tailored to the different industries and the individual workplaces, and therefore having a positive and the rapid impact on the organisation/company performance.

As well as in the English, the delegates or the students can take the NEBOSH Award in Health and Safety at Work in five other languages, French, Arabic, Spanish, Mandarin Chinese and the Russian.

NEBOSH Certificates

NEBOSH Certificate level qualifications explain/show the broad knowledge of the subject covered. There are the nine NEBOSH Certificate level qualifications:

For those who are seeking a long-term career in the occupational health and safety, Certificate level qualifications offer a progression route towards the NEBOSH professional level Diplomas.

However, both the NEBOSH International and National General Certificates in the Occupational Health and Safety are also increasingly seen as the important core qualification for the management in the workplace. In fact, around 80% of the people who take the NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety qualification are employed in the roles where the primary function is not the health and safety.

The NEBOSH IGC can be taken in Portuguese, French, Arabic, Spanish Russian and the Turkish, in addition to the English. NEBOSH IGC is split into three units: Two written exams. One practical assessment within the workplace.

As well as rigorous examinations, NEBOSH Certificate level qualifications also feature the practical assessments, designed to help the candidates apply their learning at work and at the same time adding value for their employers.

NEBOSH Diplomas

Diploma level qualifications demonstrate professional knowledge of the subject covered. There are three NEBOSH Diploma qualifications:

NEBOSH Diplomas are accepted globally as the flagship professional qualification for aspiring the health and safety professionals. Those people or persons who pass their NEBOSH Diploma are allowed to use designatory letters, such as the DipNEBOSH for the NEBOSH National Diploma.

Afterwards, they may also qualify for the membership of the professional bodies, including Graduate (Grad IOSH) and the Chartered (CMIOSH) membership of the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health and the member status (MIIRSM) of the Institute of Risk and Safety Management.

Each year, more than two hundred NEBOSH Diploma students throughout the world gather to celebrate their achievement at a Graduation and the Awards Ceremony currently held at the University of Warwick in the UK. Newly qualified NEBOSH Diploma candidates travel from around the United Kingdom and many other countries to attend. Awards are also given to top candidates for both Certificate and the Diploma qualifications.

NEBOSH Masters

NEBOSH offers three Master of Science (MSc) degrees and three Master of Research (MRes) degrees in partnership with the University of Hull:

  • MSc in Occupational Health, Safety and Environmental Management
  • MSc in Occupational Health and Safety Management
  • MSc in Environmental Management
  • MRes in Occupational Health, Safety and Environmental Management
  • MRes in Occupational Health and Safety Management
  • MRes in Environmental Management

These postgraduate degrees are designed for those who wish to extend their academic achievement beyond the level of a NEBOSH Diploma qualification, to further advance their professional careers.

The MSc programmes consist of taught modules on advanced topics relating to health, safety and the environmental management and research dissertations relevant to an own candidate place of work. The MRes programmes consist of online distance-learning courses that cover research methodology and literature searches, as well as a research project completed in the workplace.